Chrisforliberty's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Happy Birthday to the Master of Suspense

with 2 comments


I could literally write a book on the man known as “The Master of Suspense”. Plenty has been written about this rather unique individual and the role he had in shaping the motion picture industry. In a rather sad way, I am fairly certain that the “Hollywood” of the 20th century can’t be re-created.  But thankfully, in large part to restoration and preservation, the films of that era can be enjoyed by future generations for decades to come.

I first became a fan of Hitchcock after watching “The Lady Vanishes” as a 16 year old. My interest in the man and his work continues well into my 30’s. It is too bad I wasn’t born about 75 years earlier as I often say to myself.

Since time and space prevent me from writing a book about Hitchcock, I will just write what he has meant to me on a personal level. Aside from reading numerous articles and books on his style of film-making, the legendary lengths he went during pre-production and the MacGuffin, I’ve enjoyed the fact he was able to maintain his unique way of doing things even in an industry that while offering a creative outlet does tend to grow stale from time to time.  He was able to keep his independence from producers and was very hands-on, but not to the point of stifling the people he worked with. It is my hope future generations will come to learn and appreciate the era in which Hitchcock was part and parcel of. We can’t travel back in time. But we can enjoy it through his works.

Written by chrisforliberty

August 13, 2010 at 3:14 am

Posted in Movies

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I concur! Hitch was the master. I would have a hard time picking my five favorite films because they are all so good.

    Frank Murphy

    August 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Frank Murphy, chrisforliberty. chrisforliberty said: Happy Birthday Alfred Hitchcock https://chrisforliberty.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/happy-birthday-to-the-master-of-suspense/ […]


Leave a Reply

