Chrisforliberty's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Music of Misunderstanding

leave a comment »


Sir, do you not see?
What?
Don Quixote battles six merchants from Toledo and saves Dulcinea’s virtue!
Who the devil is Dulcinea?

Mozart

All my life, I’ve taken an interest in certain things: the classics, movies, music and anything historical.  In a major way, I’m a 19th-20th century man.  In learning about the greats of the past, I’ve come to realize that I have some common traits with a number of people.  The ones that connect to me most on a personal level whether in terms of my physical stature, mode of thinking, outlook on life would be James Madison, Stonewell Jackson, Annie Oakley, Nikola Tesla, George Patton and Pappy Boyington. There would be others, but in my current frame of mind, these hit home the most.

Because my mindset and the current times are not in sync, my physical existence therefore is not in sync with the times.  So Kayne West is going to have a baby. This is big news today, yet I’m sitting here studying Patton and all the more thankful for it.  I love movies from just about any decade.  My musical tastes are all over the map: Mozart, 1920’s Jazz, MTV, etc… We live in a world where we are just to be interested in one thing.  We can’t figure out why an attorney would ride a Harley Davidson or why a farmer would read Shakespeare. We can’t figure out why a good Christian girl would work at Hooters’ or why a guy works the graveyard shift.

30 years ago, I was ahead of everyone else in terms of technology.  I knew what a modem was before the word was even in existence.  I thought about technologies that would enable people to speak from distant locations, sending each other a written message via computer which would have made it easier in my case since I have hearing loss and doing school news via a linkup that goes out to the whole school as opposed to listening to it on the intercom all the time.  Nowadays, I am glad the technology exists. But my major concern these days is it is technology for the sake of technology.  The Frankenstein effect.

My childhood consisted of fighting the Soviets (in my mind), running all over the neighborhood, hanging out in arcades, my aunt’s barn in Tennessee, my aunt’s bar in Florida, etc… I would prefer that any time over these modern times that kids are living in. But because they have come into a world that didn’t exactly have my experiences, they can’t relate. Long-term, this can have serious consequences.  I have already decided that if I have children of my own, they will not be getting a cell phone at age 3.

Reflecting back on it, given that my grandparents are of the Great Depression/World War II generation, I can kind of see why my grandmother would have been concerned about men having long hair and listening to rock n’ roll. To go from John Wayne to Jon Bon Jovi was a trend towards the decline of Western Civilization.  🙂 I personally have concerns about the constant rush and over-reliance on technology.  What are you going to do when you can’t just go to the grocery store and buy a loaf of bread for $50? It happened before.  See my point. I study history for a reason.  It is so we can relate and interconnect and perhaps learn from each other no matter the time period.

And be not conformed to this world: but be you transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God. Romans 12:2

Written by chrisforliberty

January 11, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Posted in Media, Movies, U.S. History

Leave a Reply

