Chrisforliberty's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

“I’m as Mad as Hell!”

leave a comment »


You get up on your little twenty-one inch screen and howl about America and democracy. There is no America. There is no democracy. There is only IBM, and ITT, and AT&T, and DuPont, Dow, Union Carbide, and Exxon. Those are the nations of the world today. What do you think the Russians talk about in their councils of state, Karl Marx? They get out their linear programming charts, statistical decision theories, minimax solutions, and compute the price-cost probabilities of their transactions and investments, just like we do. We no longer live in a world of nations and ideologies, Mr. Beale. The world is a college of corporations, inexorably determined by the immutable bylaws of business. The world is a business, Mr. Beale. It has been since man crawled out of the slime. And our children will live, Mr. Beale, to see that… perfect world… in which there’s no war or famine, oppression or brutality. One vast and ecumenical holding company, for whom all men will work to serve a common profit, in which all men will hold a share of stock. All necessities provided, all anxieties tranquilized, all boredom amused. And I have chosen you, Mr. Beale, to preach this evangel.” Network, 1976

Image

I am a child of the 70’s-80’s. That could be an entire article or two for another day.  One of the most popular fads of the time was ladies mud wrestling (and its related matches like baby oil and pudding). There is Las Vegas Mud Wrestling Championships (like who would do this today?), “All The Marbles” starring Peter Falk to a scene in CHiPs where Bonnie describes female mud wrestling as “vulgar, demeaning and debasing”. I did not see Stripes during its original run, but have seen it plenty on cable over the years. John Candy was a good sport J Of course, various movie and TV shows took advantage of the fad and it seemed to work pretty well.

My favorite TV show was the Dukes of Hazzard.  It was from this show and the episode “The Treasure of Hazzard” (original air-date January 25, 1980) that the concept of mud wrestling came into mind. The fad started taking a hold beginning in California bars/nightclubs around mid 70’s and gradually grew to other parts of the country.  Granted, it was a rural version of it, but all the same. Daisy in quicksand was interesting too.

Image

I liked how Daisy performed in these scenes.  She had this fun-loving attitude towards it like “Hey, Daisy, let’s go play in the mud!” “Alright!”  I am merely assuming based on no actual evidence, but my perception that this kind of talk today wouldn’t go over as well today.  The combination of hard times, political correctness and people taking themselves too seriously can take a toll on us.

Mud wrestling while still viewable in various places and on the internet, it has loss some of its appeal since the close of the 80’s.  I think the bad economy, oversaturation of media, political corruption, etc… has worn people down.  People most certainly were livelier then.  You can tell by how they get into the action be it mud wrestling, a baseball game, and a number of other events.  Now people prefer to stay indoors.  All we’ve known for the past 10-15 years has been war, rumors of war, economic depressions, outsourcing, etc…

One of my friends and fellow messy wrestling aficionado Bill King has done a number of articles on messy wrestlers.  We have discussed possibly open a wrestling club of some variety eventually.  But that is another story for another day. I am Facebook friends with several of these former wrestlers.  One of them is Ruby Tuesday.  Here she is wrestling Andy Kaufman.

Again notice how the people follow the action and are participants.

My personal favorite of the catfight/messy wrestlers is Quisha Page.

Image

She also participated in a spaghetti match against Robin Hendrickson and Thunder and Mud.

In another interview, Quisha states in part:

“WOW! good question, back at the Tropicana I would have to say Lisa. She was my best friend we knew how to wrestle real well together in the mud and oil…What was so cool is when Lisa and me Quisha got matched up to wrestle and fight each other the crowd would go off! Mick had to hold the money I was making because I couldn’t hold on to it with my own two hands it got that crazy. All the wrestlers would come from the dressing room to watch our show in the background rather it was in the mud or oil Lisa and I mastered it. She was a great actor I miss her. I wish I could get her in the ring I would pay her big bucks for that match.”

I also wish they would have another match and I would be willing to pay big bucks to see it.  Hopefully we can prod Lisa into doing so.

I like this match because of the good chemistry between them.  You have your regular competitions just like any other.  But in certain situations like Ricky Steamboat-Ric Flair or Ali-Frazier, the contestants are intimately familiar with and their styles compliment each other.  I would put this match held at the Hollywood Tropicana sometime during the summer of 1989 on the top as far as female oil wrestling matches go.  If I had one particular wish, I would liked for this match to have been a few more rounds.  Plus less interference from the refs.  I never liked it when refs involved themselves too heavily into the matches. It ruins the momentum and intensity.

The pre-match oiling session was a big winner.  You can tell Quisha and Lisa were enjoying themselves and looking forward to this match.  Both of them had a fantastic selection of wrestling attire.  Overall, it was a good match with kicks, holds and various other wrestling moves.  My favorite part was the wedgie Lisa gave Quisha.  I liked the competitiveness of the match and thought both of them were pretty equal. For the record, while my commentary about their attire and oil wrestling itself may seem sexist, I should point out that no one claims that men wrestling in tights and sometimes even blading (something that I personally disapprove of) would be offensive. Men are able to get away with doing certain things that women can’t.

With that being said, what really needs to happen in this country and worldwide is some resurgence of sorts.  It will take not one big step, but many small steps getting pointed in the right direction again.  Entire political systems will have be overhauled.

Local agriculture and currency will become necessary. We will have to adapt and adjust our ways. I would like to see fewer cable cables or at least the option where the customer can pick say 5 channels and be done with it.  People need to get out more. It is sad when I in my late 30’s can outwalk and outhike a 19 year old while carrying 50 pound of gear through an unfamiliar mountain range and manage to finish the course of 20 miles in six hours.  The average foot-speed barring injury is 4 MPH. So you do the math.

Written by chrisforliberty

March 8, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Posted in General, Media

Leave a Reply

