Chrisforliberty's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Idolatry of Modern Sports

leave a comment »


Where is the wise person? Where is the teacher of the law? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world?   1 Corinthians 1:20

LifeMagazine1960

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As a child of the 1980’s, I was a huge baseball fan. My favorite team was the Mets. I also watched many Braves, Reds and A’s games.  I could remember all the rosters, stats, who did what. My interest in basketball and football were casual. I mostly watched the Cowboys and Dolphins. The only other southern teams at that time were the Falcons and Bucs and neither of them were particularly good nor a national draw.

I have a copy of the above issue that I bought at Nostaglia.  In the related article, it expands on the growing popularity of the NFL.  Keep in mind, that the NFL always ran second place to MLB up until about 50 years ago. For the rest of the 20th century, they both had their share of glory, highlights, publicity and all the other elements.  Nowadays, with the exception of perhaps New York, Philadelphia or Boston, football is the topic of daily conversation and especially in the Southeast.  We even have the new SEC Network in order to appeal to the “millions of fans of who can’t get enough coverage of the most powerful conference in college sports, and SEC officials think it will increase revenue.”

My personal opinion is that since about the turn of the century, while there are still some good baseball players and they still try their best, they are overly mechanical (due to fear of failure and paralysis by analysis).  They seem to have forgotten how to swing the bat and pitchers are on pitch counts.  Managers are second fiddle to Sabermetrics and second-guessing in the front office. This is one downturn to relying too much on technology and eliminating the human element altogether.

When it relates to football, I still enjoy the game itself.  I went out for football as a high school sophomore.  Due to being too small, I lasted just one year.  Other than that, I enjoyed the practices, the camaraderie, the studying of the playbooks and game-planning, travel, etc… Sports entails many of the things that I desire to do in a profession or work.  My dream job would be a scout for an NFL team or simply an assistant coach probably mostly with defensive backs or special teams.  I generally don’t care to be a head coach in today’s environment.  They spend more time having to deal with things other than coaching.  Too many bruised egos and wishy-washy personas to soothe over.

Too much of modern sports (as well as society in general) is prone to Bloviation and

Circumlocution 🙂 There is also

Equivocation.  Look it up!

What do we expect football coaches to do aside from winning enough games? Okay so at the college ranks, it is about getting an education, degree, developing people of upstanding character and all the other finer points.  Those are all fine if it were strictly about that.

When it comes to watching games on TV, I will generally pick one college and one NFL game each week. I used to watch back when we basically had just three or four channels to choose from and felt just fine. Today, I think there are way too many channels and most of them are not particularly useful.  In recent years, I have enjoyed going to games in person. I also like diversifying my experiences and have taken in more women’s sports softball and volleyball in particular.

So without much more left to write, I will just say to enjoy the finer things in life. But keep everything in their proper perspective.

Written by chrisforliberty

August 16, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Posted in Media

Leave a Reply

